
By
Gord McLaughlin
National
Post
August
24, 1999
The popular toronto.com
Web site, jointly owned by subsidiaries of the corporate giants Torstar
and Bell Canada Enterprises, is suing two men for $500,000 in damages plus
costs, alleging that the Web address of their self-proclaimed "Internet
community centre" - www.Toronto2.com - is meant to confuse the public into
thinking the two sites are one and the same.
The suit, filed June
24 in the trial division of Federal Court names artist Ritchie Sinclair
and inventor Garth Cole of Friendship Enterprises.
Working without legal
representation so far, the men filed a statement of defence on Aug. 19.
It says toronto.com's claim, as well as its motion for an injunction against
the Web site operated under that name, "are misleading, deceptive, and
fraught with lies."
Mr. Sinclair's attempt
to swear a required affidavit by yesterday's deadline went awry because
he had made some small errors, he said, adding that a lawyer's services
are now being sought.
"This is about as
far as I take it," said Mr. Sinclair, "I don't want to be the one to say,
'I object.' I'm not sure where you're supposed to say it."
Mr. Sinclair said
he previously approached three of four other lawyers.
"For one reason or
another they are not comfortable with the Internet trademark stuff, not
comfortable with Bell and The Star, even though they really like the case,"
he said
Neither the management
of toronto.com nor its lawyers could be reached for comment.
Toronto.com us a
limited partnership among: Metroland Printing, Publishing & Distributing
Ltd.. a subsidiary of Torstar, which publishes the Toronto Star; Bell Actimedia
Inc., a subsidiary of Bell Canada Enterprises, which publishes the yellow
pages; and CitySearch Canada Inc., a subsidiary of a California company
that operates "search directory" Web sites across the United States. The
site offers news from the Star, information from community groups, retailers,
clubs, bars and other entertainment venues.
Toronto2, where site
construction has ceased until this case is settled, is more intended to
open up the Internet to individuals, with e-mail and Web page construction
services offered, said Mr. Sinclair. But pages would also be offered to
businesses, and both sites would compete for advertising.
The statement of
claim says the trade name toronto.com has been in use since as early as
Dec. 31. 1997 and was registered in April, 1998, with Network Solutions
Inc., an organization that allocates electronic addresses on the Internet.
The defendants, however, only registered their address in February, 1999.
Since March, 1998,
toronto.com has averaged 96,000 page views per day.
"By reason of this
continued use, making known, and advertising of its Trade-marks and domain
name, the Plaintiff has acquired a valuable reputation and goodwill in
association with its Trade-marks in Canada," the statement says.
It further claims
that the wares and services offered by Toronto2.com are identical to the
plaintiff's.
"The Defendants have
intentionally adopted the mark Toronto2.com in order to pass off their
wares, services and business as those of the Plaintiff and to unlawfully
profit from the goodwill acquired by the Plaintiff in association with
its mark."
Local businesses
such as bars and clubs that pay to set up pages at toronto.com - the Web
site company refers to them as "independent contractors" - sign over copyright
of that promotional material. Thus, it sees Toronto2.s attempts to use
any of that same information as copyright infringement.
The statement of
defence denies any such infringement and describes the differences between
the Web sites, including the appearance, names and addresses.
"Our branded identity
and image which appears many times throughout our Web site pages is the
catch-word "Toronto2"... "It is not joined with the '.com' suffix, which
is how toronto.com markets its brand.
There are now more
than 40 Web sites beginning with the word "Toronto" and ending in ".com",
the defence statement says. "Do the plaintiffs really intend to sue everyone?"
The defence statement
also denies toronto.com has or might suffer irreparable harm.
"A site receiving
96,000 page views a day has nothing to fear from a small community forum
that to date has received an average of five visitors a day." it says.
Mr. Sinclair, despite
his mostly Scottish ancestry, is a protégé of Norval Morrisseau,
the Ojibway shamanistic artist. One of Mr. Sinclair's works - 28 linked
canvas panels created as the centrepiece for the first Toronto International
Powwow at SkyDome in 1994 - used to hang from the cathedral-like ceiling
of BCE Place, named for the conglomerate whose subsidiary is now suing
him.
|